Book Haul #4: May 2015

Hello! Sorry for the late post, but either my phone or WordPress (I’m not entirely sure which was at fault) kept messing up so this is actually my fourth attempt at posting this book haul.

At any rate, I have 21 books to show you that I have acquired in the month of May and I am super excited about all of them. I shall try to introduce them to you in the same order as I attained them, but we’ll see how it goes. So, without further ado…

image

Poison Study (Study #1) by Maria V. Snyder.

image

The Assassin’s Curse and The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke.

image

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas.

image

Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Unite Me (Destroy Me & Fracture Me) and Ignite Me (review coming soon) by Tahereh Mafi.

image

Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Days of Blood & Starlight and Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor. All three of these are in beautiful hardcover.

image

The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

image

The Wizard of Rondo (Rondo #2) by Emily Rodda.

Emily Rodda is the author who got me into reading, so I’m gradually collecting all of her books in hardback.

image

White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements #1) and Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

I have read and loved both the Lux and the Covenant series by her so I thought it was time to read some of Jennifer’s other works. Also, I’m pretty sure the next book in this series comes out later this year.

I have reviews on all of the Covenant books and the last three books in the Lux series.

image

Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard.

image

Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1) by Katie McGarry.

image

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen.

Sarah Dessen is the author who introduced me to YA contemporary and I have read all of her books except for Saint Anything and The Moon and More. I’m excited for the promise of a cute contemporary with darker themes interwoven, as is typical of her books.

image

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

All the Bright Places is the month’s pick for The Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs – and no, you do not have to be a Hufflepuff to join (I’m a Ravenclaw myself).

image

The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski.

I received an eARC of this book via NetGalley and loved it so much that I simply had to get a physical copy.

image

An Embed in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir.

This is the next book on my TBR. I will definitely be picking it up over the long weekend (after I finish my review of Ignite Me). I’m super excited to get to it!

image

And that’s a wrap! Don’t they look gorgeous stacked up together?

Be sure to let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books and, if so, what your thoughts are.

40 thoughts on “Book Haul #4: May 2015

  1. Im looking forward to reading an ember in the ashes. All the bright places is amazing. so is poison study and shatter me series have been my top most tbr for ages now. happy reading! love the haul ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my god such amazing books! The two books of the Dark Elements, oh my god, LOVED THEM. You will be dying for the third book, I assure you. All the Bright Places is also amazing, and so is an Ember in the Ashes and the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy! Shatter Me, of course, is outstanding as you know, and A Court of Thorns and Roses is also amazing! I’m still reading it, but I’m almost finished and I’m loving it. Okay, I’m done my short (ha ha) fangirling over books. Hope you enjoy reading them all!!! โค Great haul!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been looking forward to this haul! And I totally get it, WordPress has been giving me problems for days now. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Poison Study!! *squels* You will fall in love with The Chronicles of Ixia and the characters in them! Maria V. Snyder is one of the best high fantasy authors ever! I have a feeling you’ll be needing the second book, so if you find yourself enjoying Poison Study while reading it, then run out and get Magic Study! I really hope you enjoy Poison Study and I would love to hear your thoughts on it!
    Spectacular haul! โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yeah, hopefully it’s fine now… I actually have the rest of the series which I featured in my previous haul but I had to order Poison Study online so it came this month ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you think so! I’m sure I will ^_^ Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Umm, wow! May was a good month for me in terms of booking buying as well! I think I bought around 22 books. But I wasn’t able to get newly released books like you. I’m pretty envious of your pile. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I MUST MUST MUST get my hands on a copy of ACoTaR!! I can’t wait to see what you think of some of these, Lissa. ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! That’s fine – all books are great ๐Ÿ˜‰ Haha, you should! It is BRILLIANT!! (But then again, it’s Sarah J. Maas, can you really expect anything else?) I’ll be sure to review them all (that’s the plan, at least)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just finished reading The Manifesto on how to be Interesting by Holly Bourne which dealt with depression really well – but as part of the story rather than it being an all-consuming thing. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick is also AMAZING (way better than the film) and Dreamland by Sarah Dessen. I’m also looking forward to the release of Made You Up which is about schizophrenia, can’t wait to get my hands on that one!!
        Any you can rec back? ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sounds interesting! I love Dreamland by Sarah Dessen! As for recommendations… Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher & Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang are really good books that deal with depression, suicide, attempted suicide and the impacts on those left behind.

        Like

Leave a Reply

