Tag Archives: Mental Illness

All The Bright Places

Read from 13-14th June, 2015

Author: Jennifer Niven

image

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am so emotionally drained right now it’s not even funny…

All The Bright Places had me tearing up, laughing and full-out crying. I don’t usually dog-ear pages, but…

image

… See that? Those document all the times where I laughed, cried, or just read something that I really, really liked.

At first, I wasn’t sure that I would be able to connect with the characters – but that fear was thankfully squashed reasonably early on in the story.

I loved how unique both Finch and Violet were and that their voices were distinct from one another as the story was told from a dual point of view. I also appreciated how their characters had such depth to them – going beyond the surface level and how everyone else might see them or expect them to be. Also, Violet loves to read.

Most of all, I loved (I really need to stop repeating that word… oh well) how Violet and Finch challenged each other to be better versions of themselves. From strangers to friends to something more, it was apparent that their relationship helped both characters grow in themselves and in each other. It was believable and heartwarming and heartbreaking.

Aside from a rare few, (I’m looking at you Roamer, Mr. Finch) I either loved or somewhat liked all of the characters.

There was a strong family aspect to this book, which I really appreciated and – I’m sure many others would agree – is something that is extremely lacking in YA.

I adored the wanderings! They were so fun and awesome and unique. I loved how both Finch and Violet went about it and it was just so fun! (One of the first dog ears is a shout out to book fans everywhere). Even better, these are all actual places that exist in the world (i.e. Indiana).

Reading the acknowledgements, I found out that All The Bright Places is actually a rather personal story and it comes from some of Jennifer’s own experiences, which definitely shows.

“I wanted to write something edgy.
I wanted to write something contemporary.
I wanted to write something though, hard, sad, but fun.”

Congratulations Jennifer, you did just that.

_________________________________

All The Bright Places is June’s book pick for The Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs.

Advertisements

Eating Disorders: The Path to Recovery

Finished on 4th August, 2013

Author: Dr. Kate Middleton

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What is an eating disorder? What are the symptoms? What causes them? And is full recovery possible? Written primarily for young adults, this insightful handbook is designed to push those suffering from eating disorders towards recovery. Information is provided on every aspect of eating disorders, including what they are, how they operate, who is prone to have them, and how they can be treated. Worksheets and positive case studies designed to be motivational complete this informative guide that is perfect for those with a disorder, as well as their family and friends.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

As you can probably tell from the date read, this review is long overdue. I thought that I had posted it onto my blog with the original lot of reviews from Goodreads, but it seems not.

Eating Disorders: The Path to Recovery is an extremely helpful and insightful guide to eating disorders. It covers what they are (focusing on anorexia and bulimia), understanding why someone might have them, some of the emotions and thinking patterns behind it and a step-by-step guide on what recovery is and how it is possible to obtain.

Every sentence is jam-packed with information and practicalities. This book is written not only for those suffering from an eating disorder (or think they are) but is also aimed at parents and even simply curious readers.

Kate Middleton (not the one who recently married into the English royal family) is actually the director of one of the main eating disorder corporations called Anorexia and Bulimia Care (ABC). So, you can rest in the knowledge that this book was not simply written from theory, but from real people’s experiences and practical handling.

All in all, Eating Disorders: The Path to Recovery is a very informative, helpful, jam-packed book for not only sufferers, but for parents and curious readers.