Tag Archives: Mystery

Don’t You Trust Me? Release Week Event + Giveaway

DYTM Banner

Hello everyone! Today I’m coming to you from a ridiculously long hiatus with an exciting linkup with Jess from Audiobookworm Promotions to celebrate the release of Patrice Kindl’s new YA triller.

With a spotlight on Don’t You Trust Me?’s narrator, Bailey Carr, and a fantastic giveaway happening, I’m super excited to get my hands (or, more likely, ears) on this story and I hope you are too.

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t. But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me.

©2016 Patrice Kindl (P)2016 Recorded Books

Goodreads
Author’s Website

Bailey Carr
Bailey Carr is an audiobook narrator for multiple New York Times Bestselling authors including Morgan Matson, Heather Graham, Ann Aguirre, Samantha Towle, and Laurie Halse Anderson. She has narrated over 50 audiobooks for audio publishers including Audible Studios, Recorded Books, and Tantor Audio. Bailey graduated with a BFA in Acting from NYU Tisch School of the Arts. She lives and records in Brooklyn, NY.

Q & A

How did you get started in audiobooks?
I grew up in Knoxville, Tennessee and moved to New York for college in 2006. I graduated from the NYU Tisch Acting program in 2010 and was cast for my first book for Audible Studios in 2011. I’ve always loved reading, and I feel so grateful to get to bring stories to life in audio.

What are some of your favorite books that you’ve narrated?
So hard to choose! Some of my favorite audiobooks recorded to-date include The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate, Inception by Bianca Scardoni, and Art & Soul by Brittainy C. Cherry. I have a youthful voice, so I mostly narrate Young Adult and New Adult material. Earlier this year, I had the opportunity to narrate the incredibly interesting and special memoir of hummingbird rehabber Terry Masear, Fastest Things on Wings. I learned so much about hummingbirds! I also recently narrated some Non-Fic on the Myers-Briggs Personality Types. (ENFP over here!) I can’t say too much about upcoming books due to publisher restrictions, but I CAN say I’m very excited about a nine-book YA series on the horizon, and also a book I’ll be co-narrating with a Disney TV star that I totally had a poster of in my locker in school!

What is your preparation process like?
I mark up my scripts like crazy – I’ve created my own notation language (a shorthand IPA, for you VO people) so I can mark pronunciations, underline operative words, and take note of direction the author has subtly gifted me in the words they’ve chosen. Staying true to the text is very important to me, so I rely on the author’s clues to inform my delivery and direct my performance (such as “Not if I get there first!” she gritted through her teeth.) Script preparation helps me be relaxed and present in the booth. Audiobook narration is a marathon and requires stamina, so it’s important to take lots of breaks to remain engaged and connected to the material. As for while I’m in the booth, I’ve learned a lot of tricks of the trade. Hydration is so important. I drink a ton of water! And tea. I probably have at least three different liquids on hand at all times. I also brush my teeth right before every recording session. (Is that weird?)

Any interesting stories from the booth?
In Morgan Matson’s The Unexpected Everything, four best friends have a group text thread. No spoilers, but one of the characters gets challenged to an emoji-only summer, where she’s only allowed to use emojis to communicate via text. It’s pretty hilarious! I worked closely with Morgan, the author, and it was a super fun challenge to translate the emojis to spoken word for the audiobook, especially for an emoji-lover like myself 💕📚🐶🐕🐩🍦💑.

Fun facts about Bailey?
My recording booth is purple! (My favorite color.) I play the guitar & the saxophone. I have a pet blue crayfish named Dr. Claw. Out of the booth, I volunteer at educational non-profit, FarmingNYC. I’m also a New York Times published photographer.

Social:
I absolutely love connecting with listeners on social. Recording alone in a booth many hours every day can be isolating, and I put my whole heart into each character and book I narrate, so it’s very meaningful to me to hear back when listeners enjoy a story.

Bailey’s Social Media Links
Twitter: @BaileyCarrVOICE
Instagram: @BaileyCarrVOICE
Don’t You Trust Me? is now available to purchase through Audible  (Digital) and Recorded Books (CDs)

Giveaway

Don’t You Trust Me? Audio Giveaway

Advertisements

All Fall Down (Embassy Row #1)

Finished on 20th April, 2015

Author: Ally Carter

image

4.5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A new series of global proportions — from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter.

This exciting new series from New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter focuses on Grace, who can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world, and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

Now, at age sixteen, she’s come back to stay–in order to solve the mystery of her mother’s death. In the process, she uncovers an international conspiracy of unsettling proportions, and must choose her friends and watch her foes carefully if she and the world are to be saved.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

All Fall Down is Ally Carter’s newest release and the first book in her new mystery series which takes place in Adria, a small European country that stands as a meeting point for countries of the world. Adria has a rich history and a beautiful landscape which I absolutely loved learning about. Embassy Row is one such feature – it lies on the outer ring of the country and, as befitting its name, consists of a multitude of embassies representing places all over the world. Russia, Israel, Germany, Brazil, Canada and the USA are only a small sample of the countries situated on Embassy Row.

Containing brilliant, relatable characters, major plot twists and a cliffhanger that will leave you wanting for more, All Fall Down is an enthralling page turner and completely realistic, despite Carter inserting an entirely new country into the modern world. Furthermore, Grace is an unreliable narrator, which made the story even more compelling. She has brief flashbacks all throughout the novel to the night of her mother’s murder, but it is only at the very end that we discover what really happened.

I recommend this book to people looking for a YA mystery that reads like a contemporary but isn’t. The characters are extremely well fleshed out and Adria itself is just so interesting and beautiful. I am definitely looking forward to the next book in this series and delving into Ally’s other works (particularly Heist Society).

The Moment Collector

Finished on 5th March, 2015

Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A haunting mystery, romance in the vein of The Lovely Bones by New York Times bestselling author.

“The yard of this house is a graveyard of moments and everything left behind is a clue. And I am here to dig.”

There’s a ghost haunting 208 Water Street. She doesn’t know who she was, or why she’s still here. She does know that she is drawn to Maggie, the new girl in town, and her friends – beautiful, carefree Pauline and Liam, the boy who loves her.

But the ghost isn’t all that’s lurking in Gill Creek… Someone is killing young girls all across the county. Can the ghost keep these three friends safe? Or does she have another purpose?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“We are souls at a common cause. We are only here to love. That was my great story all along. We are here to take chances, and fail, and keep trying.”

I received The Moment Collector from my friend Little Nerdling for my birthday last year and I’m honestly not sure what I was expecting – it didn’t seem like something I would have picked up if left to my own devices.

So, after five months of having it in my to-read stack, I can gladly say that The Moment Collector is a hauntingly beautiful, emotional (at least for me) novel and I am so, so happy to have encountered this book. Despite having a supernatural element (the ghost), it read more like a contemporary than anything else. One might also name it a mystery. If I were to categorize this, I would class it as plot twisting contemporary with a ghost – not necessarily as a paranormal book.

Right from the start, I was  attached to the characters. They were each so well crafted that I either fell in love with them or loathed them with a passion. I mean, there were some really minor characters that were kind of meh, but as a general rule I was emotionally invested in pretty much all of the characters – which made it even harder when the Anderson took those emotions and mercilessly yanked them around.

The Moment Collector enthralled me, drew me in. So much so that as I was reading (and even when I wasn’t), I was constantly theorizing possible outcomes and if something was really foreshadowing or if I was just delving too much into it.

If I had had the time, I could have consumed this book in a single sitting, but in a way reading it at several different times made the book all the more well read – at the back of my mind several different outcomes and theories were playing out at any one time.

The Moment Collector is one of those books that you can’t talk much about in fear of accidentally spoiling someone. So I will leave it there with my highest regards to this book.

If anyone has already read The Moment Collector or is planning to read it, please drop a comment and we can discuss.