A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

Finished on 17th May, 2015

Author: Sarah J. Maas

image

4.5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A retelling of Beauty and the Beast (which just so happens to be my favourite classic Disney movie) – with fae – and written be Sarah J. Maas? I never stood a chance.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is beautifully written with an amazing plot, brilliant world building and complex, loveable characters. Plus, all the faerie men are smokin’ hot (*cough* Tamlin *cough* Lucien *cough* Rhysand *cough*), so no complaints here.

I am not an artist in any way whatsoever but I really enjoyed seeing the world from an Feyre’s perspective – all the different colors and hues that I simply take for granted. In the same way that Belle and myself are passionate about books, she is passionate about art and I loved that. It was wonderful to read how she expressed herself through her art and could read the stories behind other artworks.

Admittedly, I was slightly irritated with Feyre in the first hundred pages or so, but I understood her reasoning and motivation as to why she acted the way she did. If anything, it simply made her character more realistic. That said, Feyre underwent huge character development and I really liked her as the story went on.

I fell in love with Tamlin right from the get-go and Lucien shortly afterwards. They are both so wonderfully deep, attractive and brilliant characters. I love their backstories and how we were really able to get a feel for their personalities. Their friendship is so strong and rather inspiring. Plus, you know, they’re fae. Two new book boyfriends right here 😉

Aside from Amarantha (for obvious reasons) I loved all of the characters. At the very least, I was intrigued by the social dynamics and how that played into their behavior.

The world building was beautiful, believable, intriguing and absolutely magical. I cannot wait to discover more about Hybern, the other courts and Prythian in general.

The plot was also brilliant. I love how everything ties into each other – things that, until that point, seemed completely irrelevant and were easily forgotten. I really enjoyed the parallels between Beauty and the Beast and A Court of Thorns and Roses, yet loved that A Court of Thorns and Roses is incredibly unique in its own right.

A must read for fans of Sarah J. Maas (whose last name I recently found out is actually pronounced Mass), fairy tale retellings, fantasy and fae, A Court of Thorns and Roses is the start to a fantastic new series.

24 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)

      1. 😀 I’m honestly drowning in TBR lists. I believe I have 5-7 review copies I was approved for (I had no idea I would get approved for so many of them when I signed up!) thanks to Xpresso Book Tours, and then I have the Angelfall trilogy I’ll be re-reading, and then I have to start the 3rd book in the Shatter Me series, finish up more books for my Popsugar challenge, not to mention all the other cool books I’ve seen around in the blogging community. Oh, I also need to start Love, Rosie. All in all, I have tons of books to get to! 😀 How is your reading going?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha good luck with that! But they sound cool 🙂 Just curious, are the review books ebooks or physical copies? I’ve been reading an alright amount recently (aka procrastinating homework and regretting it) but unfortunately I’m still 8 books behind in my Goodreads reading challenge (I’ve read 36/120). I plan to start the Shatter Me trilogy (and novellas) really soon as I now have the books (YAYYY) and I’m not sure what I’ll read after that but o have some books coming in the mail that I’ve ordered, lots on my bookshelves to read and 15 NetGallery titles. But it should be cool 🙂 I’ve ordered An Ember in the Ashes today so it should be coming in a couple of weeks and (all going according to plan) I should be getting the Mistborn trilogy in three weeks and the Vampire Academy box set I’m about a month – hopefully 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ll need it! 😀 Yeah, the books (especially my review copies) seem really interesting, which is the main reason why I haven’t surrendered to the force of book slumps. 😉 My review copies are e-books, I believe in Epub format. 🙂 Yay, I hope you enjoy the Shatter Me series! Wow, 15 Netgalley titles; good luck with those! Ooh, An Ember in the Ashes was really good. I know of but haven’t read the Mistborn trilogy yet, looking forward to reading your thoughts on it! The VA series is also quite good, hope you enjoy it!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Haha. Well, that’s always a good thing 😉 Cool. I’m sure I will! I have heard nothing but good things about them! Funny story actually: I only read the synopsis after I had it – despite Goodreads and wanting it for so long, I somehow put it in my wish list, bought it a long time after that and only read it when it came. Haha I don’t even know. Yeah… Most of them are archived… Whoops? I’ll eventually get around to reading them all – I did a similar thing to you, actually. When I first got an account I requested a ton of titles, not thinking I’d actually get any, and now even after reading 8 I’ve still got 15. Haha. So I’ve heard – I’m hoping to read it by the end of May and hopefully (maybe – I don’t really know how it works) join in on the Booksplosion read a long and live show. Same here 😉 I hope I will!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ha ha, yeah, that happened to me once, I heard lots of good things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and really wanted to read it, but read the synopsis after I got the trilogy. 😀 I was going to request more titles, but thankfully I stopped after requesting, oh, 7-10 titles… 😉 Who knows how many review copies I would’ve been approved for had I continued requesting? Especially since I was expecting only one and got, like, 7. Cool! ❤ Happy reading!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Definitely think it’s worth the hype! It and World After were amazing, you should totally try them out! ❤ Speaking of, do you think I should do full reviews on each book separately, or mini-reviews on the series together?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Awesome! What I usually do is pretty much as soon as I’ve finished a book I try to write a review so that it’s fresh in my mind and it’s kind of like a first reaction (hence why my reviews are essentially word vomit and all the feels). Otherwise (although I haven’t yet done one myself – I think) I’d just do mini reviews on the series together.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Yeah, I’ve been trying to go that as well, however I’m falling quite behind lately! I usually just kind of write notes after reading the book so I can remind myself of how I felt of the book. 🙂 Thanks for your opinion! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Haha I know what you mean! I literally wrote the first half of my review for A Thousand Pieces of You when I read it two weeks or so ago and still haven’t gotten around to finishing it!! And I really do love the book… I need to get onto that. No problem 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I actually haven’t read any Sarah J. Maas books, but I’ve only heard good things about Throne of Glass and this. I think the only reason that’s stopping me from starting them is that I haven’t gotten a hold of copy yet. I’ll remedy that soon! Wonderful review, Lissa! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

