More Than This

Finished May 11th, 2015

Author: Patrick Ness

image

4 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I really enjoyed this novel. Admittedly, it took me a while to get into the story, but even when I couldn’t I really enjoyed the writing. I found More Than This to be a pretty solid read.

I always hear people (particularly on BookTube) say that they want to go into a particular book blind. Until now, I have never really understood that feeling. The synopsis is in itself rather vague and I feel that was the intention. Also, John Green blurbed this book (just saying).

If left to my own devices, I don’t think that I would have picked up this novel (it was a Kris Kringle gift that I received last year), but I am really glad that I read it and am looking forward to picking up Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy.

To quote John Green, “Just read it”.

6 thoughts on “More Than This

  1. im one of those people who wants to go into a book blind. especially when the hype is so high. 😀 anyways, that synopsis got me curious, and i havent read any of patrick ness’ books so i think ill be adding this to my tbr list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patrick Ness is literally the best! I read this book a while ago and I still have no clue what happened. I also think about it at least twenty times a day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

