The Lost Herondale (Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy #2) + An Excerpt from Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

Read on 18th March, 2015

Authors: Cassandra Clare & Robin Wasserman

image

4 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Simon learns the worst crime a Shadowhunter can commit: desertion of their comrades.

In the early nineteenth century, Tobias Herondale abandoned his fellow Shadowhunters in the heat of battle and left them to die. His life was forfeit, but Tobias never returned, and the Clave claimed his wife’s life in exchange for Tobias’s.

Simon and his fellow students are shocked to learn of this brutality, especially when it is revealed the woman was pregnant. But what if the child survived…could there be a lost Herondale line out in the world today?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Like every Cassandra Clare book, I absolutely adored The Lost Herondale. It was fun to read; we saw old friends, the story was interesting and the character development was great. Most of all, I loved hearing from Simon again – his humor and nerdiness are particularly of note.

“Fortunately, the tall, dark-haired man who strode into the classroom looked unlikely to have any interest in Simon or his bod.”

Despite this, I was slightly disappointed that we did not hear more about the lost Herondale. Admittedly, there was not much else that could have been added given the limited length of the installment but I felt rather let down, especially considering the title and synopsis are centered around this Herondale. Hopefully Four’s *cough* sorry, Tobias‘ descendants will feature in the coming installments, but somehow I don’t believe that they will be. (Sorry, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity.)

My two favorite scenes of The Lost Herondale would have to be the one where Catrina details the (full) story of Tobias Herondale and the concluding scene.

Lady Midnight Excerpt

You have no idea how excited I was when I saw those three words on the contents page – I couldn’t even. (Side note: Why do fangirls always travel in odd numbers? Because they can’t even.)

Julian and Emma are so adorable together! I ship it so much… When Emma was recalling the memories of Julian and her? I may or may not have squealed and gushed and awwed. You know, maybe.

12 months. We have to wait twelve months for TDA – the thought rather depresses me… But in the meantime we get Simon, so that’s something I suppose. (Just kidding Simon, I love you!)

7 thoughts on “The Lost Herondale (Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy #2) + An Excerpt from Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

      1. Oh yes, there hasn’t been a single Cassandra Clare novel that I’ve read that has disappointed me. 😀 Lady Midnight sounds amazing, and if I have to wait a year to read it, I most certainly will (although I cannot guarantee that I won’t die in the process…)! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

