Water So Deep

Read From 3rd-5th March, 2015

Author: Nichole Giles

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Seventeen-year-old Emma Harris is drowning on dry land.

No one knows what’s happening to her, and she’d like to keep her evolution from human to mermaid a secret, but the truth is getting harder and harder to hide. From her adoptive family, from her friends, and especially from the irresistible James Phelps.

Her time in the ocean is spent dodging a possessive merman, while her time on land is split between caring for her special-needs brother and squeezing in every last possible moment of human life. She soon realizes falling for James is unavoidable when he constantly comes to Emma’s rescue and somehow manages to see through her carefully constructed icy facade to the vulnerability she lives with every day. Everything about James makes Emma yearn for a life on land she just can’t have.

When Emma’s brother disappears on her watch, James is the only person she trusts to help her save him. But even if they can save her brother, nothing can prevent her return to the sea. Whether she likes it or not, Emma is changing—unable to breathe without yielding to the tide—and it’s only a matter of time before she’s forced to surrender forever.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Wow. Wow wow wow wow. I know it’s only just been published, but can I have the next one please? Is there even a next one? Please tell me there’s a sequel. If there’s not, I think I might cry – or, you know, sob my heart out. (As you do). Because that’s totally normal. Pfft… What is normal? But seriously, next book please. Even if I have to wait a year, I want another book. YOU CAN’T END IT LIKE THAT! No. Just, no. I mean, we pretty much knew it was going to come to this, but…  We couldn’t have had one little snippet from Emma’s point of view after the departure? Just one? I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS TO HER! *tears up* I hope you know that I am now emotionally traumatized, the only cure being the next book in this beautiful, amazing, enthralling, spectacular, I-don’t-even-know-anymore, cliff-hanger-but-not-cliff-hanger series. At least I hope it’s a series. It better be a series.

But in all seriousness, I absolutely loved this book. Water So Deep is a unique gem amongst the paranormal genre. The characters, the plot, the suspense, the dual point of view, the emphasis on the importance or family and the writing itself formed a magnificent crescendo.

There were no “meh” characters in this book. They were all deep, complex, and I either loved them or hated them – there were no gray patches, no matter how minor the character. Heather, James, Keith, Emma, their biology teacher, Emma and Keith’s parents, James’ uncle, Emma’s Grandma, the social worker we never met. Merrik, Tom, Mark, Lyle, Jonathan, James’ dad. I’m not quite sure how I feel about the Sea King, but I kind of like him, despite not really having a reason to – though I have a feeling that he will be rather prominent in the next book (which will happen, or else I will suffer from withdrawal for the rest of my existence – I’m trusting you Giles).

The writing was just so brilliant and the story was so enthralling and amazing and brilliant that I can’t even really form any coherent thought besides ‘I need the next book now; oh-my-goodness-this-is-absolutly-fantastic; WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?! That stupid ending; why do books have to end? I NEED MORE EMMA AND JAMES (do they have a ship name? Emmames? Jammmema? I am so bad at this.)

So essentially, go read this book – seriously. Recommended to fans of paranormal, mystery, intrigue, and YA. And, you know, anyone and everyone. *cough* I mean…

Thank you so much to Patchwork Press – Cooperative for supplying me with a free copy of this book via Netgallery in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Water So Deep

    1. YAY! I can’t wait! I’ll definitely keep my eye out for it. Thanks for reading my review, have an awesome day 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

