The Moment Collector

Finished on 5th March, 2015

Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A haunting mystery, romance in the vein of The Lovely Bones by New York Times bestselling author.

“The yard of this house is a graveyard of moments and everything left behind is a clue. And I am here to dig.”

There’s a ghost haunting 208 Water Street. She doesn’t know who she was, or why she’s still here. She does know that she is drawn to Maggie, the new girl in town, and her friends – beautiful, carefree Pauline and Liam, the boy who loves her.

But the ghost isn’t all that’s lurking in Gill Creek… Someone is killing young girls all across the county. Can the ghost keep these three friends safe? Or does she have another purpose?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

“We are souls at a common cause. We are only here to love. That was my great story all along. We are here to take chances, and fail, and keep trying.”

I received The Moment Collector from my friend Little Nerdling for my birthday last year and I’m honestly not sure what I was expecting – it didn’t seem like something I would have picked up if left to my own devices.

So, after five months of having it in my to-read stack, I can gladly say that The Moment Collector is a hauntingly beautiful, emotional (at least for me) novel and I am so, so happy to have encountered this book. Despite having a supernatural element (the ghost), it read more like a contemporary than anything else. One might also name it a mystery. If I were to categorize this, I would class it as plot twisting contemporary with a ghost – not necessarily as a paranormal book.

Right from the start, I was  attached to the characters. They were each so well crafted that I either fell in love with them or loathed them with a passion. I mean, there were some really minor characters that were kind of meh, but as a general rule I was emotionally invested in pretty much all of the characters – which made it even harder when the Anderson took those emotions and mercilessly yanked them around.

The Moment Collector enthralled me, drew me in. So much so that as I was reading (and even when I wasn’t), I was constantly theorizing possible outcomes and if something was really foreshadowing or if I was just delving too much into it.

If I had had the time, I could have consumed this book in a single sitting, but in a way reading it at several different times made the book all the more well read – at the back of my mind several different outcomes and theories were playing out at any one time.

The Moment Collector is one of those books that you can’t talk much about in fear of accidentally spoiling someone. So I will leave it there with my highest regards to this book.

If anyone has already read The Moment Collector or is planning to read it, please drop a comment and we can discuss.

One thought on “The Moment Collector

Leave a Reply

