Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy (Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy #1)

Read on 17th February, 2015

Authors: Casandra Clare & Sarah Rees Brennan

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

After living as a mundane and a vampire, Simon never thought he would become a Shadowhunter, but today he begins his training at Shadowhunter Academy. Simon Lewis has been many things. A mundane. A vampire. A hero. But Simon can’t remember any of that. His memories of adventures with Clary, Isabelle, and the rest of the New York Shadowhunters were erased by a demon, and now Simon is eager to reclaim that part of himself. But will he ever get back the parts of himself that he lost? Does he even want to?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Despite being in the middle of two books (The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey & Death Before Daylight by Shannon A. Thompson) I could not resist the allure of Cassandra Clare’s. Filled with characters we know and love, as well as quite a number of introduced ones, laughter, wit and character development, Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy did not disappoint.

When Simon was first introduced in City of Bones, I was admittedly not impressed – I saw him more of an annoying hindrance than anything else. During the course of TMI, I was thankfully disproved of my initial judgment. Simon has evolved into a remarkable character and despite the minor fallback of the amnesia, I have no doubt that Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy is his time to shine and he will do so admirably. Personally, I have found that simply the first installment has made him so much more loveable (though that’s probably the Cassandra Clare withdrawal speaking) and brought to the table his adorable Simonness. I can’t wait to watch him flourish. (Also, did I mention that Simon is a Doctor Who fan? No? Well, he is and its absolutely fantastic!)

“Is that a weapon?” Julie asked.
“Um, no,” said Simon. “It’s a tennis racquet.”

Although I wasn’t entirely sure about George in the beginning (I must shamefully admit that it was more because of the rugby top than his phobia of rodents) I warmed up to him rather quickly. He is the best possible friend Simon could have at the Academy. Plus, he’s “an excellent horseman”.

The “bear-killing” dagger. I say no more.

Isabelle was brilliant. I won’t spoil anything, but damn girl.

Coincidentally, my favorite parts came near the beginning and at the very end of the novella – the “demonic” possum and the soup scenes. However, I loved it all and wholeheartedly recommend people to get on board the Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy bandwagon.

5 thoughts on “Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy (Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy #1)

Leave a Reply

