Falling into Place

Read from 25-26th January, 2015

Author: Amy Zhang

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect?

Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Falling into Place is a hauntingly beautiful, heartbreaking novel and is the saddest book I have ever read – more so than Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why, John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Victoria Roth’s Allegiant combined.

I cried continuously throughout Falling into Place – I don’t think I ever quite stopped. I loved getting to know all the characters and my heart kept breaking for them. Over and over again.

All of the characters were great, but Liam and Ms. Greenberg stuck out in the best way.

I love Liam. Totally and completely. He vaguely reminded me of Liam from Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in that they were totally understanding, cute, forgiving and embraced the fact that they were misfits. They were both so pure and true to themselves and underrated.

Ms. Greenberg, although she only appeared briefly, was totally awesome and reminiscent of McGonagall. That speech? Wicked.

I went through several theories about who the narrator was, but it only became apparent about three quarters through, and only conformed at the end. When I got over the frustration of not knowing, it was kind of cool – after all, they had perspective and insight that no one else could.

Falling into Place outlines the stark realities that a lot of people face and challenges you not to judge or take people for granted; to not leave unsaid what ought to be said. It is the tale of a girl who attempts suicide, and pieces together her life and what drove her down that road. It mentions anorexia, bulimia, depression, drug abuse, sex and alcohol consumption. It is a story about mistakes, and lives interlocking with one another but never truly connecting.

There is more to life than cause and effect.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Falling into Place

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s