Fangirl

Read on 23rd January, 2015

Author: Rainbow Rowell

image

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

“Touching and utterly real.” —  Publisher’s Weekly

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Forget what I said about Champion. I did not know how badly I needed this book until I’d read it. But oh my goodness every fangirl needs to pick up this book and read. Now. This is not an option, it is a direct order. Go. Now. Or else you will regret it for the rest of your life!

Fangirl is a beautiful, brilliant, relateable, easy read. It is also completely believable and full of fluff – plus everything else.

Although Simon Snow and Harry Potter don’t have much in common, I pictured Cath’s world to be an AU where Simon Snow was Harry Potter – except, three quarters in, Levi made reference to Harry Potter. So, essentially, either Simon Snow is just that good, or this is an AU when Harry Potter simply didn’t really take off and/or Simon Snow just stole the spotlight. Either way, The Watford School of Magicks sounds pretty cool (not as good as Hogwarts, but close).

Fangirl read beautifully. Nothing was overdone, the characters, the plot, the sub-plots and story arcs, the relationships (not just the lead romance), Simon Snow, The Fandom, Levi, Baz and Simon… It was all breathtaking and perfect and real. Fangirl is just so real – I don’t believe that there’s ever been a book that I can relate to so strongly and for that I believe Fangirl has earned a permanent spot in my heart.

I’m really not doing a great job pitching this, so I’ll leave it to you with a heavy recommendation. Fangirl is real life plus fluff plus a fandom as strong as (if not stronger than) J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter.

Edit:

OH MY GOODNESS!! RAINBOW ROWELL IS ACTUALLY GOING TO PUBLISH Carry On AS AN ACTUAL NOVEL – THIS. YEAR. *faints*

13 thoughts on “Fangirl

      1. Absolutely! I was kind of uncertain whether it would be worth the hype at first, but since I loved Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park, I went ahead with Fangirl, and I’m definitely not disappointed! And I’m totally excited for the fan fiction to be released as a book as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I recently got some AMAZING bookshelves yesterday! Would you be interested in a bookshelf tour sometime soon? Also, I have a book haul coming before the end of the month (shamelessly self-plugging…)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ooh, yes please! 😀 I’m always eager for new books to add to my TBR (even though I’ve added probably near 100 books in this month alone and am nowhere near finishing). ❤ I also have a huge book haul I will be posting soon hopefully! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

