Sentinel (Covenant #5)

Read on 6th October, 2014

20141006-204957.jpg

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * *

It’s a beautiful day for a war.

As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.

And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.

In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.

* * * * * * * * * *

That has got to be the best ending ever. I’m still laughing and crying really heavily right now, but it feels so good. Gosh – what a perfect ending to a perfect series. Sentinel blew my mind and then some, I simply can’t express how amazing this book is – I just… Can’t.

All through the series, the titles have connected with a character but Sentinel… I’m not quite sure, but somehow I think it’s referring to her Dad. It would make sense, wouldn’t it? Half-Blood referred to Alex, Pure Aiden, Deity Apollo, Apollyon Alex and now Sentinel her father. Of course, Armentrout could be talking about any number of characters, but I just have a feeling that it’s Alexander. After all, when Alex “talked” with him he was not wearing servant’s garb but the Sentinel uniform and he is referred to a Sentinel on server so occasions. It makes sense.

I’m so happy – I love Seth again!! For a while, I was hot and cold on whether to trust him or not, but he pulled through in the end. I actually think that I may be in love with him… Especially after what he did for Alex and Aiden. I’m so happy that he finally saw the light – it seems Ares was good for something, it seems.

While I loved all of the characters (even Perses had his moments – “Make war for the pure bliss of it, but never make war in order to take control.” – only he would say something like that), I have to say that one of the main highlights of Sentinel was Athena – proper, old-fashioned Athena – saying “Army of Awesome”. I just- wow. It majorly cracked me up. Another highlight is Apollo’s timing. Leon was bad enough, but Apollo? He was absolutely brilliant. The amount of times he scared the heck out of everyone present, not to mention popping in on an inappropriate moment… Priceless.

During the latter part of the Covenant series, we have established that an Apollyon can only be created by a female pure and a male half-blood, one of whom must be a descendent of Apollo. “You were supposed to be the First, Alex. All the Apollyons came from Apollo. I was created for this-for what Ares wanted. It was the same with Solaris and the First.” So my question is (aside from the obvious “how the heck did Ares manage to create Seth and Solaris’ First?“) – why establish the Breed Order in the first place? Surely there aren’t that many descendants of Apollo (then again, this is Apollo we’re talking about). The conditions are certainly rare. How is it fair to ban all relations between Pures and Halfs? But then again, the Council established the enslavement of Half-Bloods and claimed it to be decreed by the gods, when it that was not the case. At least the fact that he was “created” explains how Seth had amber eyes even before he Awakened…

An absolutely stunning series, Covenant is something everyone should get behind. Witty, strong, hilarious, hot, sexy, tear-inducting, swoon-worthy, heart-breaking, inspiring, Armentrout has hit the nail on the head with this one. – I might even go as far as to say that it is better than the Lux series, but I have yet to read the final book so I cannot make a comprehensive judgement there. My point is, the Covenant series is absolutely amazing – certainly one of my favourites – and 100% worth the read.

If I had to rank the series, I would have to go with…
1. Sentinel
2. Deity
3.Apollyon
4. Half-Blood
5. Pure
(Keep in mind, there is very little difference between the ranks)

Leave a Reply

