Apollyon (Covenant #4)

Read on 5th October, 2014

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

20141005-234923.jpg

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * *

Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

* * * * * * * * * *

A true Armentrout novel, Apollyon was well-paced, witty, heated, fun, with well-developed characters that have come a long way and a plot to match. While not exactly fast-paced (in comparison to, say, Deity), it was still quite intriguing and featured many astounding revelations.

Though she was rather amusing, I didn’t like psychotic, “evil” Alex. In fact, for the first seven chapters, I seriously wanted to punch her in the face – with love, of course. I was so relieved when she came to her senses! And Aiden… Where can I get myself an Aiden? Seriously? Even though she hated his guts, he had such unwavering faith in her.

What I love most about Jennifer L. Armentrout’s romances is that, while her books are written in third person, the love is obviously mutual – i.e. it’s clear that Aiden is as crazy about Alex as she is him. It’s something that I really admire about her. Also, isn’t it skilful how some authors can write about sex without making it sound like they’re actually having sex? It’s pretty clever, to be honest. And it doesn’t take away from the experience at all. Just saying… *coughs and looks around awkwardly at all the stares, ‘whaaaat? It’s true…‘*

So, let me get this straight:
– A god and a mortal make a demi-god
– Two demi-gods make a Hematoi (a pure)
– A pure and a mortal make a half-blood
– A half-blood and a pure make an Apollyon (sorry, a female pure and a male half-blood make an Apollyon)

So what does a pure and an Apollyon make?

I really hope we’ll find out, because I am beyond curious. Maybe they make a demi-god, bringing it back full-circle? Or an immortal? A minor god/goddess? I have no clue. (I’d love to hear your thought, speculations and crack-pot theories!)

I really don’t have much more to say… Other than Apollyon is totally awesome, well-worth the read, I really want to kill-but-not-kill so many characters (in a good way!), I love how Caleb just keeps popping up and how he’s so chill (“yeah, I play wii with Persephone every day, like a boss“), I SO KNEW *bleep* WAS THE GOD BEHIND LUCIAN AND SETH! I CALLED IT!!! And that ending – are you kidding me? WHAT IS UP WITH JENNIFER AND CLIFF-HANGERS???? Even though it’s not technically a cliff-hanger… (Yeah, this isn’t going anywhere so I’ll shut up now – just read it and you’ll understand. I apologise for the fangirl gush/rant.) Oh, and I love the cover!

4 thoughts on “Apollyon (Covenant #4)

    1. I know the feeling! I’m team Aiden all the way, but I do love Seth – ESPECIALLY after “Sentinel”. Did you know he’s getting his own series? I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!! *squeal*

      Like

Leave a Reply

