Deity (Covenant #3)

Read from 4-5th October, 2014

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

20141005-030107.jpg

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * *

“History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time. ”

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

* * * * * * * * * *

How on Earth did I ever think that Seth stood a chance? Honestly, I’m clueless.

Aiden is just so awesome! And cute, hot, sexy, loyal, over-protective, bad-ass… Shall I go on? I – like Alex – had fooled myself into believing that she wasn’t “settling for Seth” and that what they had was real. I was wrong. To be honest, there were times when Seth actually scared me – and most of the time I didn’t even know who he was. What Alex and Aiden have together – well, I can’t believe that I believed Seth was even in the running. Harsh, but true. Pure seemed more like a dream than anything else when it came to Alex, Seth and Aiden…

Deity was full of non-stop action, wonderful suspense, hilarious banter, beautifully developed characters, a artfully devised plot line, and moments that stir your emotions like never before.

The brown-eyed man. I guessed that he was important, but his identity left me breathless. I had a faint inkling when Laadan was talking about Alexander attending a Covenant, but this? Awesome. Wicked. Amazing. I had no idea that was what created an Apollyon, but it does make sense…

I loved Apollo!! He was absolutely, downright hilarious and such an enjoyable character. When Leon got all deep and meaningful, echoing the words of the oracle (was it in this book or Pure that it happened? I’m not quite sure) I knew something was up. But this? Totally epic.

Seth. I don’t know if I’m frustrated with him, feel sorry for the kid, or just want to kill him. Especially that ending – are you kidding me!? (I would undoubtedly have a significantly more explosive reaction if I haven’t got the next two books lined up on my bedside table, as opposed to at the library where I would have to wait a few days before obtaining them.) I knew something was off about him, but seriously? Urg, it seems I cannot form any cohesive thought when it comes to him… Just- yeah.

Let’s talk about the cover for a moment. I like the flower and colour scheme (consistent throughout the series, I like it. Much better than the Lux covers – they were all terrible, save perhaps Origin) but what is up with the neck? At first I thought it was a shoulder, but at a weird angle. Speaking of which, it’s a weird angle regardless. It’s just- weird. I mean, I suppose I understand the significance – but a neck? Seriously?

*In my review of Pure I mentioned a Minister “Tilly” – I meant Minister Telly. Telly, not Tilly (that sounds so weird!)

If I had to rank the series so far, I’d have to go with:
1. Deity
2. Half-Blood
3. Pure
But really, they’re all awesome.

To sum it up, Covenant is an awesome series that you should definitely get on board! Half-Blood is the first book of the Covenant series.

6 thoughts on “Deity (Covenant #3)

      1. I feel like I should apologize because I’m liking and commenting so much on your posts! I don’t want you to feel like I’m spamming you or something. ❤ Let me know if that's how it feels. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so glad to hear that! ❤ A part of what i love about blogging is reading other bloggers' passionate reviews, and I just really want that blogger to know how much I enjoy their review(s)! I wouldn't want the blogger to be unhappy that I'm spamming them or something. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

