Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3)

Read from 1st-2nd October, 2014

Author: Sarah J. Maas

20141002-182329.jpg

5 Stars

* * * * * * * * * *

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

* * * * * * * * * *

Where do I even start? As a die-hard bookworm, I have come across many brilliant, beautiful, amazing books but I have to say – none of them top Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass chronicles. Absolutely none. I know my review will not even begin to do justice to this stunning series, but I’ll give it my best shot.

Ripe with emotion and words that touch you in the deepest part of your soul, Heir of Fire will bring tears, triumph, anguish, despair, hope, loss, friendship, sorrow, laughter, understanding and joy. Sarah J. Maas will rip your heart in two, fix it, only to destroy it again, but leaving behind some semblance of hope. It will fulfil you and leave you hanging, screaming for more.

Everything comes full circle. Everything. Including new elements and characters that will become as beloved as those familiar to us.

Assassin, Fae, Queen, Friend, Traitor, Liberator, Fire-heart. To quote Tamora Pierce, “Celaena is as much an epic hero as Frodo or John Snow.” What is not to love about Celaena? She is lost and aches with a fierce darkness in her soul, that which has been stirring for over ten years, with the added loss of Sam and Nehemia. She is sarcastic, humerus, clever, witty, loyal, broken and lost, but breaks through and finds hope in herself and for a better world.

Rowan. The perfect companion for Celaena. He is just as lost and broken as she, but they forge through together “to whatever end.” He is reserved, fiercely loyal, skilled and downright hilarious when he’s fussing. I love their silent conversations – what I wouldn’t give to be able to do that, to form a bond with someone and trust them so entirely, to be able to read them and be their equal… I fell in love with Rowan just as I have with Chaol.

Manon was interesting. I’m still not quite sure what to make of her, but it was great to hear the story of someone so completely different to those we are familiar with. I enjoyed her fierceness, composure and kickass attitude, especially her rivalry with Iskra. The coven dynamics is fascinating and I feel like Maas definitely has something big planned for her.

At first I too bought into the image that Aedion was a lying, scheming, traitor who was turned on his own people, but I was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case. Aedion was revealed to be strong, loyal and have a heart of gold, willing to do anything for Aelin, his cousin, his queen. In flashbacks we see their close relationship as children and it is heart-wrenching. His only wish is to see her again one last time and we can only hope that they will soon be reunited.

My heart broke for Chaol. He was always a favourite of mine and to see him so lost, so broken, absolutely crushed me. To see him sell himself to his horrid father to send Celaena to Wendlyn (I had actually forgotten about that part of Crown of Midnight) and the repercussions of that decision – not only having to leave all that he’d strived for and worked for, but to see his relationship with Dorian all but shatter… I wept for him many times, and all I can hope for is that when he and Celaena meet again they take each other back, for they love each other and are truly a match made in heaven.

While I love Dorian, I have always preferred Celaena with Chaol, so when Sorscha came along, it was just too perfect. Dorian and her are adorable together! At first I thought that nothing would come of it, but when it did… I was totally rooting for them.

Dorian. I was so proud of him! Finding love with Sorscha, acting like the king he truly is. I could see it, clear as day – Dorian as King with Sorscha as his Queen. What happened to him… Let’s just say that Maas is truly cruel, no matter how great of a writer she is.

I didn’t actually think it was possible to despise the King any more than I already do. But no, he just had to become an even worse (or is it better?) villain. What he did ten years ago… *shakes head* And that end scene – it totally broke my heart. Sorscha, Dorian, Aedion, Chaol… I completely balled my eyes out. Everything was perfect, but then THAT STUPID, PATHETIC EXCUSE FOR A KING!!! I just-can’t. Just, no.

Heir of Fire is truly a must-read for all! If you’re new to the series, Throne of Glass is the first book, followed by Crown of Midnight. Read it! You won’t regret it.

For those of you that have read this breath-taking novel, I would love to discuss with you! Also, please let me know that you think of my reviews – constructive criticism is welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

