Origin (Lux #4)

Finished on 8th July, 2014

20140708-224021.jpg

Sorry for the bad cover image, Google failed me so I had to take my own.

5 Stars 🙂

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Did anyone else just melt at that synopsis? Because I did. And it must be a pretty good book if I can read the blurb and melt. I mean, really.

What is this!? WHAT IS THIS!!?????? You can’t just end it like that!!!! NO, NO, NO, NO!!!! YOU TRICKED US!!!! I THOUGHT THERE WAS MORE!!! But NO, it had to be a chapter of a book that is completely unrelated and that I therefore DON’T CARE ABOUT!!!!!! YOU CAN’T DO THIS TO ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *dies inside* What is there to do? I don’t know what to do with myself now… 0.0

You see that? That was my reaction upon finishing this book. DO YOU SEE WHAT YOU HAVE DONE TO ME JENNIFER? DO YOU???

But, WOW. Origin had me laughing our loud, squealing with excitement, picking at my nails with tension and jumping in surprise. We learned so much, there was epic battle scenes and it was just so perfect. This book is SO up there with City of Heavenly Fire!

I loved the dual perspective. We finally got to get inside of Daemon’s head and I loved it – I loved every second of it, of him, of Katy, of their love story, of everything Origin had to offer. And you know what? For once an author has introduced a dual perspective late in the series and HASN’T killed of the main character! Authors of the world, you better be taking notes!!

There is just not words that can measure up to my experience of Origin – I would even go so far as to venture that this is my favourite of the Lux series. (With Obsidian coming a very close second, naturally).

The Origins – who would have thought? I know that Jennifer makes all her titles cornerstone to what happens in each of her books but-wow. I was NOT expecting that. And Archer? That was another bomb that I had no idea of. I totally ship Dee and him though!

Has anyone else read Sweet Evil? Because I have and I loved it – even more reason to love Dee. Page 260. Go. Read. Now.

URG! I can’t think of anything else to say without adding spoilers but even if I did it wouldn’t equate to the brilliance that is Origin. So here’s all I’ve got left to say and those of you who have read it will understand what I’m saying. You ready for it?
Blake.
Nancy. Can I punch her?
Daemon. Katy. Vegas.
Beth. Dawson. A VERY happy reunion.
Matthew.
Ash. Andrew. Paris.
That ending.
Yep, that pretty much sums it up.

So yes, HIGHLY recommended. The first book in the series is Obsidian (It’s got a green background and a really hot picture of Daemon. *cough* I mean… ^_^)

5 thoughts on “Origin (Lux #4)

  1. You had me grinning all over like crazy! OHMYGOD! This book is EPIC! And Bethany!!! I was right from the start. I really though she’s ******** because of her unusual fatigue. And LUC! I love him to the max! I love those characters. We are given lots of surprises by Jennifer. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

