Buddy Read: What’s Left of Me (Hybrid Chronicles #1) – Reading Environment

20140708-125033.jpg

20140708-125308.jpg

For those of you who aren’t aware, Stefanie from Bookmark’d in Bankok and I are journeying with Eva and Addie through the first instalment in the Hybrid Chronicles What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang. Today, we’re sharing our thoughts on the ideal reading environment for this book.

joysofbookworms

What’s Left of Me takes place in a society full of judgement and government propaganda forced upon them that leaves the main protagonists frightened for being themselves. Reading this in the winter, I feel this book is one to read curled up under blankets, perhaps with a cup of tea, coffee or hot chocolate. The feeling of safety countering the protagonists’ constant state of fear.

Stefanie

Although this is supposed to be a dystopian novel, I don’t get the usual image of a war-torn, post-apocalyptic setting. It feels very much like a regular high school drama in a modern day environment. However, there’s just a significant addition of super-conservative-hatred against foreigners and outcasts. Reading this in the summer, I feel the book is a cafe-read, when it’s a sunny day, deserving of your short-shorts and an ice cream cone. I don’t prefer to read this book at home, because that enforces the notion of an imprisoned Eva. I’m rooting for her (and Ryan), so I like to read this at the cafe or the park, to imagine she’s eventually gonna achieve her own personal freedom.

Keep an eye out throughout the week for more news before we release our book reviews on Saturday. If you’ve read this book, feel free to pitch in your thoughts in the comments below. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Buddy Read: What’s Left of Me (Hybrid Chronicles #1) – Reading Environment

  1. 555! I love that our perspective is the complete opposite: summer vs. winter feeling. If only I could experience weather below 30C again! I haven’t had a cup of hot cocoa in years~

    Like

    1. 555! I know right? Trust me, it’s not all that grand… With the exception of hot chocolate and hot chips – I honestly don’t think I could live without them… 0.0

      Like

Leave a Reply

