City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) – Contains Spoilers and References to the Infernal Devices

Read on December 11, 2013

Author: Cassandra Clare

City_of_glass

4 Stars

 

 

***SPOILER ALERT***

Finally!! I thought that they’d NEVER get to the point of finding out that they weren’t brother and sister… But now they have, and Clary and Jace can be together!!! The depiction of Idris is beautiful and YES, LUKE AND JOCELYN ARE FINALLY TOGETHER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are SO going to get married… Not to mention there was so many MALEC moments that I almost cried in happiness…

WARNING: References to the Infernal Devices

Am I the only one who noticed that not only is Jace William Herondale’s heir but that the star that he has as a birthmark originated from when Will was marked by Tessa’s Clockwork Angel (the same angel, mind you, that Valentine captured) after they had spent the night together in her cell at Mortmain’s headquarters? Yes? No? Maybe?

I also happened to notice that Jocelyn’s maiden name is Fairchild – and you know who else’s last name is Fairchild? Charlette! Or, more accurately, her SON. So Charlotte’s Clary’s ancestor! Isn’t that awesome?!

Hodge’s last name is Starkweather – as in, Tessa’s great-grandfather’s name. Since Tessa’s immortal (indeed, I have heard that we catch up with her in “City of Fallen Angels”) it is more than likely that at some point she took on the name of Starkweather – maybe, but I’m not sure – presuming that I’m right, Hodge and Jace are distantly related.

The Lightwoods. The Lightwoods are already an amazing family as it is (a part of me died with Max) but to make them even better she’s tied them to Gabriel and Gideon – who’s father, might I recall, turned into a giant worm because he had demon pox

Don’t you just love Shadowhunter surnames? I know I do! Cassandra’s references to the Infernal Devices (in my opinion) just make her writing even better! Though, she DID write the Mortal Instruments first (I think) but I still think that it’s brilliant how she’s tied them together – after all, the Infernal Devices ARE set a couple hundred years back.

Leave a Reply

